Chris Squire passes on RIP

Discussion in 'Rock' started by Bonz, Jun 28, 2015.

1. Bonz

Bonz Well-Known Member

I really don't have much to say. Pretty devastating news for me. One of the most influential bass players in rock. Rest in peace Mr. Squire you will be greatly missed.
    Basil H and A. Smith like this.
  2. A. Smith

A. Smith Well-Known Member

I was just going to post about this, Bonz.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/chris-squire-yes-bassist-and-co-founder-dead-at-67-20150628

Heard about this last night and was very saddened, though I had heard of his fight with leukemia some months ago. As a prog drummer myself, he was one of the original prog artists that I really looked up to.

I grew up on Yes music in the 70's and they were one of my biggest inspirations to get into prog and alternative music. Yes' rhythm section of Chris and Bill Bruford always blew my mind. I'd stay up to late in the night listening to their first 4 or 5 albums many, many times.

Finally got to see them on tour in Nashville, August 1977 at the Municipal Auditorium. Weeks before the show, two buddies and myself took the morning off work so we could wait in the parking lot early to get the best tickets, and we were the first ones there at 6:30 a.m. before the window opened at 9 or 10. For a 16 year old kid into the rock scene, it was like going to see demigods. Well actually, that's what they were to us and pretty big ones at that. What a stage show they put on! Not ashamed to say I was walking on air for a couple of weeks after.