Recommendations

Discussion in 'Classical' started by john a camacho, Feb 12, 2014.

1. What albums would you suggest to start building a classical music library?
  2. Ernie Adams

Ernie Adams Well-Known Member

Cruise your local GoodWill and Thrift Stores. Classical albums show up a lot at those stores. Many times they are in excellent condition.
  3. Bonz

Bonz Well-Known Member

You can't go wrong with Holst The planets. That's about it for me:)
  4. Good ideas guys...
  5. Stanley Green

Stanley Green New Member

I know...you've heard Four Seasons ad nausium....however, the new Anna Akiko Meyers version is absolutely wonderful....will bring tears to your eyes (well, mine anyway)
  6. welcome Stanley never heard of it... novice here...
  7. Ernie Adams

If you were in the Conyers, GA area yesterday, you would have hit the Classical mother lode at a GoodWill store. Dozens of high quality looking classical records. I am not into that music, so passed.
  8. Yep looking to pick-up a few to start my classical collection but aside from Bonz, you and a new guy there hasn't been too many responses to my thread...
    I guess if you are near Atlanta you must be a Braves fan should be another interesting baseball season what the heck you got a Mets fan here...
  9. Ernie Adams

Originally from Maine....so you know who I like. My father was a Red Sox fan for years. They didn't win the World Series until a year after he passed away.
  10. Ernie Adams

We actually went into 3 GoodWill stores yesterday. Every one of them had Classical stuff. Nothing in equipment worth doing though. That is getting much harder and rarer to find.
  11. Yep I guess I know who you root for but heck even I am Red Sox fan here. Born and raised in Queens so I naturally hate the Yankees. It's in my DNA...
  12. Stanley Green told me about the Four Seasons remake by Anna Akiko Meyers...
  13. Ernie Adams